Travel

Day 4: Riding on the rocks and on to the Lake Tso Moriri

With the first ray of light we leave. Leave to a better place to make things happen. While on my way I was charged up and ready for some beautiful locations on the way but never to ready to some of the fast running water streams which i might have on the way. The moment the thought had passed my head I could see the SUV in the front being really slow and struggling with the shallow water stream. Feeling a bit less confident all of a sudden I readjusted my riding position and getting ready for the splash. Slow, steady and extremely focused i move on splashing the water and feeling confident with every inch i move forward with confidence. It was finally over. Relaxed and even more confident with what I just did I moved on.

I go through a lot of emotions while i ride a motorcycle and this terrain just makes things a lot special. With no one around and nothing great to look at times i never wish to stop but to keep moving forward.
Soon, we approached to a famous Gata loops- a mountain filled with adventurous 21 hairpin bends making the view, the ride and the entire experience on a different level. I could see a lot of shortcuts but never actually dared to take one and move up for I had something so beautiful with me never would wish to see the motorcycle being scratched or damaged any further than what it had already gone through. We advanced forward to a beautiful place called More Plains – a good 57 kilometres of a straight road which would make you wonder of every possible things you can imagine of while riding. The road for a change is smooth and silky make it more and more provocative to riding fast and in the best of ways you can. But, there is a hitch. Every few kilometres of the very road it has a dump which if ignored can make you take a flight. It can be really fatal. Stopping over for a quick break for some photographs and some of the best things you wish to do in that very beautiful place. After a few photographs and a lot of stretching e move on. The break is much needed for the ride on this beautiful road can be beautiful, enticing and the best of your life but that would also make you feel sleepy. With caution and care we move forward. Unfortunately, we would have to take a different route.

img_4769-copy

On the way we spotted so many motorcyclists and so many people on their beautiful bicycles.
taking the right turn from the small town of Debring and towards the off road which than leads to a narrow tarmac road. The road was beautiful and could have been better only with a bit of an energy and a lot of hydration. The body joust couldn’t take it further and we had to call it for a short stopover to regain the energy and some fluids in that hot weather. With all the riding still to do i wasn’t in the best of the shape due to my funny stomach. it simply wasn’t forgiving and pleasant. I had no choice but to have more and more fluids to keep moving forward and to keep the group energised. After a short while we took a short break for some food and some rest for the route later was one of the most treacherous the motorcycle, human body and a human mind would have ever experienced. With half heart and absolutely no mood to ride on I had some food and some black tea and lot of water.

There we go again moving forward to one of the most beautiful mountain lakes one can see. Tso Moriri lake is one of the places which is very close to the china border on one side and the Indian army camp on the other side.
Moving forward into the treacherous terrain with the slow but steady I passed each rock with great care and patience. With such a beautiful motorcycle under my legs I had no intention to spoil it in any ways possible but just to pass through this tough terrain and be abiding to the mother nature and its raw beauty. An hour turned into two and than into many more hours. The terrain was simple unforgiving and so very tough to pass through. I stopped for a short time to let the engine cool down while i regain that energy and move forward. Moving forward crossing a few stones at a time I check the time on the dial the time has stood still. everything felt slow, sluggish and bumpy. The heart gave up but the spirit was willing. With that patience and determination I moved on till the time i could see a freshly laid tarmac. I simply couldn’t believe my eyes. I just couldn’t wait to be on it and enjoy the smooth road after such a long, tiring and super bumpy ride. I was finally on it. I revved my motorcycle and zipped through some of the corners and was in a snap lost in the mountains. i was back to life and the liveliest mood. The pain, stomach problem and that fatigue went way back. The view suddenly was breathtaking and so very beautiful. hours passed by and slowly the fatigue started sinking in. this time it was even more than what I had earlier. crossing one of the truck and taking a slow turn I stopped at one of the small tent which happens to be restaurant. it was the only one around for miles in between no where. Hearing the engine an old man comes out and gives me a sweet smile. a smile so welcoming and so very much from the heart. Waving me with an expectation that we might do a stop over and help him earn some money. I couldn’t resist but went close to the tent and parked my motorcycles. With a brief chat about the route and how long it was I could see the rest of the group joining in. I simply couldn’t gather up the energy to move forward or even hop on the motorcycle that mere 20 kms of a distance.

img_4748

img_5017

My friend came over and asked me if everything was ok with me. Had no choice but to sound a bit strong but after a few other questions an offering to ride the motorcycle for those 20 kilometres was a proposal i couldn’t resist.
With great effort and a heavy heart i ask my friend to ride my motorcycle. I looked at it and with a bidding good bye for a short while i sat in the car. completely exhausted and dehydrated I felt so much better on the seat. it was no less than heaven. The road thankfully was good too and i started feeling sleepy. The feeling didn’t last long though as the carpet road had vanished somewhere and we were back into the bumpy ride. Though the bumpy ride was a bit bearable in the car i was more worried about how would my motorcycle be. How would my friend be riding it? With ample thoughts I just kept myself awake till the time i could see the royal blue patch in between the dusty mountains. That was it, I shouted pointing the finger for others in the car who were busy gossiping about a million things in the world. It was all quiet after that and the only thing you could hear was all the praises about how beautiful the lake looks and the shutter sounds of the camera.

img_5170

we soon approached the Indian army check post where we had to get ourselves registered. Besides the motorcycles the entire group was around. I couldn’t help but ask the guard on the duty about the medical officer who can help me with my stomach problem. Swiftly pointing at one of the shades he suggested i go meet him along with one more person. No idea about the reason for the same but without asking him for the same and thinking more about it i asked my group photographer to accompany me. Besides being an amazing photographer she happens to be a Doctor by profession too.

img_5189

With a quick help from the army Doctor I felt a bit better once we reached the camp. The long day was finally over and that I could ease out myself and enjoy the beautiful lake which kept on changing the hues of blue every time you see it.

Day 1: Here

Day 2: Here

Day 3: Here

3 thoughts on “Day 4: Riding on the rocks and on to the Lake Tso Moriri”

Leave a Reply

